xcsam

Clevo open chamber heads...

G'day members. Today I got some 2nd hand open chamber heads from a 351. They've been cleaned, sand blasted and crack tested. I know that this is a bit of a 'vague' question, but what should I think about doing to them. I would like a 'moderate' upgrade. Port and Polish? Bigger valves

I have been collecting parts for many years. I've got a Holley 750 vac sec carby, tri-y extractors, twin 2.5" exhaust system, but the rest of the engine is undecided. I want a 351 as a minimum, possibly a stroker kit. I am wanting to make 400hp at the flywheel.

I know that the cam will also be an issue, but what is the best option for the heads?

PS- it's an XC ute, I have a 5 speed manual, and i'm tossing up between keeping the 2.92 diff, or get a 3.5 or somewhere in between.

The reason that I got the open chambers over the closed chamber is that I was specifically told by some of you guys on the other forum that the open chambers are more suitable for me.

G'day members. Today I got some 2nd hand open chamber heads from a 351. They've been cleaned, sand blasted and crack tested. I know that this is a bit of a 'vague' question, but what should I think about doing to them. I would like a 'moderate' upgrade. Port and Polish? Bigger valves

I have been collecting parts for many years. I've got a Holley 750 vac sec carby, tri-y extractors, twin 2.5" exhaust system, but the rest of the engine is undecided. I want a 351 as a minimum, possibly a stroker kit. I am wanting to make 400hp at the flywheel.

I know that the cam will also be an issue, but what is the best option for the heads?

PS- it's an XC ute, I have a 5 speed manual, and i'm tossing up between keeping the 2.92 diff, or get a 3.5 or somewhere in between.

im no guru on clevelands but if you only looking for 400hp fly, just use the standard 351 crank and rod combo, just get the refinished and arp bolts fitted to the rods, they do rev! as long as you have everything balanced.