Haf

XH XR6 Distributor access

Hey Guys,

Newbie here and have searched the entire site as best as I could to try and find the answers I was looking for before I put up this post.

I have a 1996 XH XR6 Ute which I am trying to service, especially the distributor and associated parts.

How the bloody hell do you access the thing when it's hidden under the fuel injection system like that?  doh.gif ? WTF !?

So far I have removed the high tension leads, distributor cap and rotor, can't access anything else, it's too cramped under there,

I need to replace the ignition coil that is also under the EFI on the side of the block!

So I started to remove the EFI by taking all the bolts from the inlet manifold out and I still can hardly move it out and it doesn't assist much in

gaining any further access, so before I got the  angry.png with it all I packed up and left everything until tomorrow hoping I would find some answers here.

Do I need to remove the EFI to gain proper access to the distributor and ignition coil?

If yes, how do I completely remove the EFI?

If no, how do I do it?

Thanks in advance guys........

Haf.....  thumb3d.gif

Heya Mate, Nah ya don't need to take off the intake manifold, but I'll be the first to admit.... it's a bastard to get to...... lol

The dizzy will come out if you take off the spacer under the rotor button, make sure ya mark the dizzy position and have the motor on TDC, and know what ya doin if ya pull it out. Don't replace with cheapo dizzy either.... or you'll get a cheap gear and module and it will just be problems. Go the Bosch Dizzy and coil.

The coil is easiest to get to from underneath or with the dizzy out.

I should be doing mine next weekend, so if ya got time, I'll post pics for ya then.

Jack.

Hi Jack,

I'll be doing it today as the car is in pieces. I'm going to go and grab some ramps and stands and approach it from underneath.

Thanks for the info and help.

Cheers,

Haf.