Mr Polson

Alternate ECU options for EFI XF?

What kinda options are out there? Few reasons I want to move away from the EECIV.

AFM - I'd love to be able to get rid of it. Hate the things. Would also look better without it.

Cam - Replacing the cam in the motor - considering getting a bigger than stock replacement. Heard the stock ECU doesn't like big cams?

Future turbo (maybe) - would love to turbo the wagon down the track. But that'll be a long way away - years.

So what kind of options do I have, that aren't overly complicated? I'm no wiring expert, but I know the basics.

Oh - and ideally I'd like to keep the stock intake setup - including throttle body, if possible.

What kinda options are out there? Few reasons I want to move away from the EECIV.

AFM - I'd love to be able to get rid of it. Hate the things. Would also look better without it.

Cam - Replacing the cam in the motor - considering getting a bigger than stock replacement. Heard the stock ECU doesn't like big cams?

Future turbo (maybe) - would love to turbo the wagon down the track. But that'll be a long way away - years.

So what kind of options do I have, that aren't overly complicated? I'm no wiring expert, but I know the basics.

Oh - and ideally I'd like to keep the stock intake setup - including throttle body, if possible.

I have a wade 242a cam in my XF efi running standard ecu. Its the largest you can go without going aftermarket ecu. Car runs no problem and it is a lumpy cam (you can definately tell its cammed). Increased power up the top end slightly too

Haven't decided on how big of a cam I'll go yet - but I definitely need a different ECU to ditch the AFM.

Hey noobus, how complicated is the MS to get in, setup and working? Is it a whole new ECU?

$400 doesn't sound like a bad price.

Its pretty simple if u can read a wiring diagram and know how to work a soldering iron.

The loom is marked on each wire what is what and thee instructions to wire up for each sender.