PH351

4 Litre into XD-XF, Which one? Why?

I thought i'd open a new thread to ask this as there isn't much here in the 6 cyl section yet.

If I wanted to put a 4.0 Litre into my FE, which model would be the preferred? Maybe even the top three in case number one is hard to find or out of budget, etc.

In my case i would like to use the 4spd auto as well. Not sure if i will ever go turbo but if so, does this affect which model i should go for?

I am in a similar position. I want to put a 4 litre in my ZL maybe next year.

I personally was leaning toward an AU motor. I have an AU so i have experience with it and like the motor FWIW. I would then use the AU box to. I have no technical experience with this sort of conversion so i cant say how hard it will be.

But AU's are plentifull, cheap and reliable.

Also adds the option of the VCT motor not sure how much harder that would be though.

Good thread mate.

I like au engines,they do 100's of 1000's of k's with little maintenance and are cheap.

The autos are the same from ea2 on,other than mid way through el the dipstick being removed.

Thanks Ants. There's a few AUs on Ebay and carsales for under 1000. Something to keep in mind.

I am in a similar position. I want to put a 4 litre in my ZL maybe next year.
I personally was leaning toward an AU motor. I have an AU so i have experience with it and like the motor FWIW. I would then use the AU box to. I have no technical experience with this sort of conversion so i cant say how hard it will be.
But AU's are plentifull, cheap and reliable.

Also adds the option of the VCT motor not sure how much harder that would be though.

Good thread mate.

Thanks, figured it's a pretty common question with the x-series owners. I'm warming to the idea of this as there are less hoops to jump through than if there is if i drop my clevo in.